Blogger Recognition Award

I am honored to have been nominated for the Blogger Recognition Award by both Jenn @ boundtowriting, and anatomyofabookthief. They both have really awesome blogs; you guys should definitely go check them out!

Without any further ado, the Blogger Recognition Award:

blogger-recognition-award-badge


The Rules:

  • Thank the blogger who nominated you
  • Write a post to show your award
  • Give a brief story of how your blog started
  • Give two pieces of advice to new bloggers
  • Select 10/15 other bloggers you want to give this award to and let them know you nominated them

How Ryann the Reader started:

I’ve loved books for as long as I can remember. So it should come as no surprise that I went to college for English Language and Literature. For a few of my classes, we had to make our own blogs so we could discuss what we were reading for class and prove that we were thinking critically about the literature for ourselves instead of depending on everyone else in class. And I really enjoyed the blogging experience.

But, because I was an English major, creating my own book blog outside of class seemed like an unnecessary hassle. After all, I was surrounded by other bookworms every day for my major, so why would I go through all the extra effort of creating and maintaining a blog? But then I graduated, and realized I wouldn’t be surrounded by those people anymore, so finally buckling down and making my blog seemed like the best way to stay engaged in the literary community. And thus, Ryann the Reader was born. (And being part of this awesome book blogging community has far exceeded my expectations!)


Advice for New Bloggers:

This is so weird, since I feel like I’m still discovering new things about blogging myself, but here it goes:

  1. Don’t feel like you have to follow everyone who follows you. This may make me sound a little rude, but it’s okay to be choosy! You want to follow blogs that inspire you to read new books, and who make you want to comment and interact with them. And, sadly, that can’t be everyone! If you try to actively follow every single blog that follows you, you’ll start to feel overwhelmed and burnt out, and that’s not what blogging should be about.
  2. Read at your own pace. Sometimes, as a book blogger, it’s easy to want to compare yourself to other bloggers, and feel like you’re not reading enough. Don’t worry about it! As long as you’re reading, that’s what counts! Some people might be able to read a book a day, others read a book a month. Whatever pace you read is good enough; being a book blogger doesn’t have to be about ONLY writing reviews.

My Nominees:

I’m only gonna nominate 3 cuz I’m awful These are some wonderful blogs I recently started following:

Laura @ Green Tea and Paperbacks | Amber @ ambsreads | Ava @ Bookishness and Tea

As always, you don’t have to do an award post if you’re not up for it; just know that I really enjoy your blog and thought you deserved some love!


Thanks for reading!

What do you think of my advice? Do you disagree with me? Or maybe you’d add something else? Let me know in the comments below!

name

17 thoughts on “Blogger Recognition Award

  1. I love your responses! It took me a little while to learn not to follow everyone. But after awhile, I was getting emails about topics I didn’t connect with. Now that I am more picky about who I follow, it makes looking at my emails and social media pages a lot easier.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Congratulations! You gave some great advice, and I agree with you about not following everyone back. I just went on a huge unfollowing spree- I probably unfollowed about 400-500 blogs that no longer interested me to clean up my feed. I used to want to follow every book blog that follows me, but I have now become much more choosy. Great post!😄

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Love the advice you give! Honestly, when you first start blogging, you keep sticking to that Twitter / Instagram-mentality and just follow back. After a while you simply realize that you can’t possibly follow-up on all those blogs in a decent manner. :’)
    It’s what I had discover the hard way, haha. I recently cleaned out my whole list of blogs I follow and I’m happy with the result. Granted, there’s still plenty left [I honestly wonder what the average number of blogs is people follow], but it’s much more manageable now!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks! I had to learn it the hard way too! 😂

      I had that Instagram mentality for my first few months of blogging, and I ended up following close to 400 blogs! It just got to be waaaaay too much, and made blogging very not fun. But after narrowing down who I follow, I feel a lot better, too.

      And I would definitely love to see the blog-following average! I wonder if WordPress keeps track of that anywhere?

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment