The Reading Quest Sign Up & TBR

The awesome Aentee @ Read at Midnight is hosting an awesome reading challenge based on video games quests! The Reading Quest is a new reading challenge that runs from Aug 13 to Sept 10, where participants choose a character, and follow a bingo-board style quest to gain XP and HP. Go check out the sign-up post here if you’re interested in finding out more! The challenge is accompanied with some absolutely gorgeous illustrations by the talented CW @ Read Think Ponder!

The quest board is so awesome and exciting, I can’t wait to get started!

reading-quest-board1

Main Quest

I’ve chosen to follow the rogue path! If you read my Literary Buzzwords post, you know I can never resist a great rogue! Plus she’s just so cute!!

Reading Quest Card

A Banned Book: A Wrinkle in Time by Madeleine L’Engle. (I was supposed to read it for college, but never did oops.)

Book Cover With a Partially Obscured Face: A Rebel in the Sands by Alwyn Hamilton

Book with <500 Ratings on Goodreads: As of this post Girls Made of Snow and Glass by  Melissa Bashardoust has less than 500 reviews, so that’s the one I’m reading.

A Book Published by a Small Press: Begin With a Failed Body by Natalie Graham*

A Book With a One Word Title: Roar by Cora Carmack. I started this one a while back, but then life got crazy and I never finished it, so we’re gonna give it another go.

Total Pages: 1387 –> 138 HP

Books Completed: 5 –> 50 EXP

Marginalised Authors Read: 1 –> +10 EXP

Side Quest

Mini-Game: Supply Chain by Simone Triplett*

Grind: Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo

Respawn: The New Testament by Jericho Brown*

Open World: The Waking Land by Callie Bates

Total Pages: 1077 –> 107 HP

Books Completed: 4 –> 40 EXP (+120 EXP for extra completed quests)

Marginalised authors read: 2 –>+20 EXP


I’m going to stop the list there, but I might add more later on depending on how quickly I can get through the books I already listed! Thanks for reading!

 

 

8 thoughts on “The Reading Quest Sign Up & TBR

    • I downloaded the background image from the original post, then uploaded it to Canva to add the text.

      There’s also a link in the original post to all of the characters. I downloaded the rogue, then used pixlr.com to make it transparent, and uploaded it to Canva.

      Both Pixlr and Canva are free to use, and making it transparent in Pixlr is a lot easier than it sounds (I don’t actually have any Photoshop skills either!). I can send you more details through your contact page if you want!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

