ACOWAR Review

 

ACOWAR
Buy it from Amazon, or direct from the publisher

Title: A Court of Wings and Ruin
Author: Sarah J. Maas
Type: Fiction
Genre: Fantasy
Length: 705
Published By: Bloomsbury
Pub Date: May 2nd, 2017
Format: Hardcover
Source: I purchased a copy of this book from Amazon

My Rating: ★★★☆☆

See other ratings and reviews at Goodreads, then check out the author’s website!


 

The short version: I had a few issues with this book, but overall, I thought it was another great addition to this series!

The long version: I marathoned this series. I read all three books in about a month. I fell in love with the characters and the world from the beginning, and this book was no different.

A Court of Wings and Ruin carried on the stories of the characters I had already come to know and love, and throughout the book, I only grew to love them more. And, of course, Prythian itself is an amazing setting to be able to return to. I was completely wrapped up in the story from beginning to end. But, now that I’ve finished and have had some time away from the book, I realized, even with all of the amazing elements Maas had set up for this story, I still found it to be a little lacking.

I think the biggest issue for me was just the pacing of the story. I wanted the espionage piece at the beginning to go on longer and be a bit more in-depth. As it was, it seemed a little rushed, and made out Hybern’s niece and nephew (Fae who are centuries old) seem rather idiotic compared to Feyre (Fae who is not even a year old). It felt too easy and too quick.

Which then made a large swath of the middle of the story drag on a little too long. There was a lot of moping and worry over plans and plots, and I felt it just went on for a little too long and leaked a lot of the tension and momentum out of the story.

The last probably 20 chapters (?) I thought were perfectly paced, but then the ending happened, and I honestly felt a little let down. {SPOILER} It felt like there wasn’t a lot at stake when Rhys died. Everyone who was needed to bring him back was already there. And when Amren came back… Basically I just wanted someone to stay dead. Otherwise it just seems a little forced and way too convenient. Like their deaths were just wasted page space. {END SPOILER}

Even with those couple of issues, I am still already impatient for the next book in the series. I’ve already fallen in love with the characters and the world (and I desperately want to hear more about Nesta), so I can’t wait to jump back into the world of Prythian.


Thanks for reading! Have you read this book yet? If so, what did you think? Let me know in the comments below!

name

6 thoughts on “ACOWAR Review

  1. […] I blew threw this series this month. The first two books were amazing; I couldn’t read them fast enough! While I really enjoyed ACOWAR, I thought there were a few issues that sort of made it a disappointment compared to the rest of the series. If you’re looking for more details, you can check out my review here. […]

    Like

  2. I totally agree about the stakes surrounding death. It just felt unreal and not true to character. I mean, Mass may not want to let a character go, but that’s part of life. I wish she’d made it slightly more high-pressured.

    Liked by 1 person

    • My thoughts exactly! Even if she didn’t want any of her characters to die, there were other ways she could have made it more intense! It was just a little disappointing, especially after the way ACOMAF ended.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

