A Great Read for Those in Love With Poetry

The Hour Wasp
Buy it from Amazon!

Title: The Hour Wasp
Author: Jay Sheets
Type: Poetry
Length: 88 pages
Published by: April Gloaming Publishing
Pub date: May 28th, 2017
Format: PDF
Source: A digital copy was provided via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

My Rating: ★★★★★

See other ratings and reviews on Goodreads!


The short version: This was a beautiful collection of art and poetry. While I wouldn’t recommend it to everyone, I think people familiar with the genre will love this book.

The long version: Reading through Jay Sheet’s collection was like reading through a dream. The lilting lines of poetry smoothly connected one poem to the next, even as each one had its own distinct features. Just like dreams, some of these poems were darker, some were more light-hearted, but all of them were emotionally raw and often had several layers of meaning.

The art is the same way. I’ve read several similar collections where the artwork sort of

THW EX
A great example of the art you’ll fin d in this collection.

tears me away from the page, but in this work, each piece perfectly compliments the poems around it, both simplifying and further complicating previous pieces. Each work of art draws the reader deeper into the dream Sheets has created.

There is so much meaning layered into such a short read; this is a collection I’ll want to read a few times over, just to make sure I get everything I can out of it.

While there isn’t really a downside to this collection, I will only say that I’m not sure everyone would enjoy this book. The poetry is free-form, and often requires readers to think much, much deeper than just the words on the page. The poems definitely have an ethereal quality, but it doesn’t exactly radiate with the deeply personal connection that I think a lot of first-time poetry readers are looking for.

But, if you have already fallen in love with poetry, then you’ll appreciate the poetic techniques and lyricism found in every page of this book. As a poetry lover myself, I cannot recommend this collection highly enough.

Over all, I gave The Hour Wasp 5 stars:

5-stars


Thanks for reading! Are you interested in reading this book? Have you already read through it? Let me know what you think in the comments below.

name

2 thoughts on “A Great Read for Those in Love With Poetry

Leave a Reply

