Book Personality Tag

I was tagged (ages ago) by the awesome Chanda @ Chanda Reads Books for this tag. You guys should definitely check out her blog! Also, I may be a little in love with her Instagram

But on to the tag! Fun fact: the first time I ever took a Meyers’-Brigg test, I was very far on the Introverted side of the scale, but then college happened, and now:

What’s your MBTI Personality Type?

ENTPENTP (-A, -T)! I’m definitely extraverted, and the “Debater” personality definitely fits me! I took a debate class in college, and it was one of my favorite classes of all time. I love the thrill of a good battle of wits, and, at the risk of sounding rude, I love the “Gotcha!” moment of either shredding someone else’s argument to pieces, or trapping them in their own words.

I’m definitely an analyzer, which is probably why I’ve always loved debating so much. I’m not sure how I feel about the term “People Mastery,” but I guess I understand where it’s coming from. I approach situations not from a standpoint of self-improvement, but a standpoint of bettering a group, getting people to trust me, and using that trust to help propel them further in their own lives and beliefs.

What is your personality like?

“An odd juxtaposition arises with Debaters, as they are uncompromisingly honest, but will argue tirelessly for something they don’t actually believe in, stepping into another’s shoes to argue a truth from another perspective.”

One of the big things that comes up with ENTPs is that we tend to play devil’s advocate in every situation, even if we don’t even agree with the side we’re arguing for. We don’t necessarily do it to reach a deep sense of understanding with the people around us, but to make sure that thoughts, beliefs, and ideas have been analyzed from every angle, because that’s the only way to get to the truth. Sometimes people appreciate it because it can open up new avenues of thought, sometimes, it gets a little irritating because nobody likes to be constantly questioned.

The other thing is that ENTPs can come across as brutally honest (which is 100% me). We see no point in beating around the bush. Sometimes that sucks, because I’ll come across as cold, insensitive, or completely indifferent, but I’m not. Too me, it just seems kinder to get to the core of the issue, rather than waste both our time trying to make a bad situation seem less bad. That being said, sometimes it’s really good because it can be very hard to hurt my feelings. When other people feel they’re being too harsh or insensitive, I usually find myself appreciating the fact that they were straight-forward and honest.

If you were a character in a book, what would be some of your strengths and flaws?

The test says my strengths are that I’m knowledgeable, quick-thinking, original, excellent at brainstorming, charismatic, and energetic. I would probably agree with all of these, though sometimes I’m not quite as original or charismatic as I want to be.

And it says my weaknesses are that I’m very argumentative, have difficulty focusing, sometimes seem morally ambiguous, and can be intolerant (not in the sense that others must always agree with me, but in the sense that their arguments must be defend-able. It says: “Either a suggestion can stand up to rational scrutiny or it’s not worth bothering with”). I would have to agree with all of these, too.

Do any authors share your personality type?

The only author from this test was Mark Twain, but Bookriot adds Voltaire, Machiavelli, and Socrates, among others.

What fictional characters share your personality type?

Fic characters IFic characters II

(See?! Good guys, bad guys, and a lot of ambiguous morality!)

And, according to here, also, Captain James Tiberius Kirk (Star Trek), Mercutio (Romeo and Juliet), and Sirius Black (Harry Potter).

I couldn’t leave out my two faves, so I also went hunting for LoTR and Narnia personality types:

According to here, my LoTR twin is Merry!! I could gush about his book character arc all day!

And despite hours (-ish) of hunting, I could not find a Narnia ENTP assignment! So I’m going to take a guess here; just bear in mind that have no psychology training whatsoever. I would say that I’m closest to Puddleglum from The Silver Chair, as he can come across as a little argumentative and a “wet blanket,” but all for the sake of pursuing the best course of action, though, I’m pretty sure he’s introverted, and I don’t think I’m quite as pessimistic. (Feel free to let me know if you think differently!)

If you were a character in a book, what kind of job would you have?

I think if I were a character in a book, I would make a great spymaster who kind of skirts the line between good guy and bad guy. I would have the best intentions, whether it be helping someone move past an event or helping someone save the world. But because I can get so argumentative, I can sometimes come across as downright antagonistic. The charismatic aspect of ENTPs would help me get people to divulge information, and my logic-oriented brain would let me easily analyze how to best use that info (the test flat out says Debaters think “The value of an idea lies in the using of it”). But, because most of my decision-making process is rooted in logic rather than emotion, I would be the character saying things like, “If harming this innocent child saves a hundred other people, then let’s do it.” (That makes me sound super cold-hearted.) So yeah, I’d be right on the blurred line between good guy and bad guy.tumblr_nuincvevox1s2w5q7o1_400

If you’ve ever played Dragon Age: Inquisition, I basically think I would be Leliana: I would make tough calls and do subjectively terrible things, but only if I truly believe they will have a greater benefit on humanity as a whole. (Don’t even get me started on the future Leliana the Inquisitor can see, I’ve played the game like five times already and I still get chills. Also, if you haven’t played the Dragon Age series, I cannot recommend it highly enough! I’m not even a huge gamer and I love it!)

What Personality Type would complete your OTP?

I don’t think I would have a preference between intro- or extraverted; both have qualities I would love!

But I think the ideal match-up would be either ENFJ or INFJ. Both types know the value of human emotion and tend to be very empathetic, but they are also very convicted in their beliefs and can hold their own in an argument or debate. These are the sorts that would encourage me to sometimes let go of that hyper-logical side of me, while never diminishing its value, and actually appreciating it. Basically, they’d help balance me out, without making me feel like I needed to be balanced out, if that makes sense.

Who are some fictional characters that would complete your OTP?

On the ENFJ scale, that would be people like Faramir and Peeta Mellark. Since I couldn’t find that many ENFJ dudes (that I knew), and just in case you ship me with a lady (I’ve been on Tumblr, I know how it goes), Padme Amidala and Daenerys Targaryen also makes it to this list.

On the INFJ side, that would be folks like Edmund Pevensie ( ❤ ), Prince Caspian, Aragorn, and Jon Snow.

It seems I may have a preference for some of those INFJ fellows after all…

(but also a preference for the ENFJ ladies?)


I Tag You!

I’m going to leave this tag open; sometimes I’m afraid I annoy people with how often I’m tagging them in things. So, if this seems fun or interesting to you, then I tag you to do it! (But it would be really cool to let me know if you do it, because I’d love to see your responses!)


Thanks for reading! What do you think of my analysis of myself? Do you think you’re similar to me, totally opposite, or somewhere in the middle? AND FOR THE LOVE OF ALL THAT IS GOOD DO YOU KNOW WHICH NARNIA CHARACTERS HAVE WHICH PERSONALITY TYPES?!

8 thoughts on “Book Personality Tag

    • I thought it was cute too! 😊

      And considering Edmund and a bunch of awesome book characters are INFJs, I’d say you’re in some pretty great company!

      Liked by 1 person

    • I’d love to read your responses!

      For mine, it just said that ENTPs should stay with other N types, and that some of the other traits should be flip flipped, so I just made my best guess based on that

      Liked by 1 person

      • Ahh, I see. I originally got the Debater, but it didn’t seem to match my personality. So I took the Myers-Briggs. Then I went another day and tried it again and it Matched me more closely. I’ll have to see which one it is…I can’t remember it off the top of my head, but I was an Extrovert.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

