A Worthy Prize-Winning Collection

Tremulous Hinge
Get it from Amazon, or buy direct from the publisher!

Title: Tremulous Hinge
Author: Adam Giannelli
Type: Poetry
Length: 90 pages
Published by: University of Iowa Press
Pub date: April 15th, 2017
Format: PDF
Source: A digital copy was provided via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

My Rating★★★★★

See other ratings and reviews on Goodreads!


The short version: This was an amazing collection of poetry! While there was a poem or two that kind of threw me off, it’s no surprise that Giannelli’s collection won the Iowa Poetry Prize.

The long version: The very first poem of Adam Giannelli’s collection was enough to draw me in to Tremulous Hinge. The entire collection portrays a sense of longing, though for what exactly is sometimes unclear. But as the speaker seeks the things missing from his life, he strengthens and forms new connections to the people and things around him. One of my favorite quotes from the first poem, “Stutter,” is a perfect example of the longing that pervades the collection: “since I can’t say everlasting / I say every lost thing” I could go on for days about all of the perfect lines I loved in this book, but, for now, I’ll leave it at that.

Through the entire book, it is clear that Giannelli really knows the English language, and uses it to create lines, metaphors, and a musicality that all work to enchant his readers and keep them wanting more. There were so many poems in this book where I found myself holding my breath while reading because I didn’t want even the sound of my own breathing to interfere with the way the poems sounded in my head.

This collection was almost perfect, but the few poems with floating lines and inconsistent indentation really threw me for a loop. While you could argue that this was the point of those poems (because a tremulous hinge would create a sort of stuttering connection), for me, it tore me right out of the pages, and broke the enchantment I had been under.

But, since even my only critique is subjective, it’s safe to say this is an incredible collection of poetry, and I would highly recommend it. With a beautiful cover and beautiful poems, I can’t wait to get a hardcopy for my shelf!

Overall, I gave Tremulous Hinge 5 stars:

5-stars


Thanks for reading! If you plan on reading this book, let me know why; or, if you’ve already read it, let me know what you thought in the comments below! And tell me what you’re doing to celebrate National Poetry Month!

name

3 thoughts on “A Worthy Prize-Winning Collection

Leave a Reply

