March Wrap-up

March Wrap-Up
Updates on the Reader:

It’s the last day of March, which means it’s time for another monthly wrap-up!

In other news about great things that are happening today: I won an award! The last paper I wrote for my undergrad degree was “The Battle of the Sexes: Colonized Maternal Identities in Herman Melville’s Moby Dick.” (Sounds crazy exciting, right? Actually… it kinda was.) My professor submitted it for an award, and I found out today that I won! I was so so so so proud of this paper, and I am incredibly excited to have won!

March also marks the second month of my blogger life! If I had to pick my favorite thing about being a book blogger, it would be how awesome the whole community is; everyone is super supportive, and who doesn’t love talking about books with people who love books as much as you do?!

If I had to pick a least favorite thing about blogging, it would be that my TBR list has grown by about a hundred books in just these two months! SERIOUSLY GUYS, HOW CAN YOU ALL BE READING SUCH AMAZING BOOKS?! MY WALLET CAN’T HANDLE THIS!! (Please don’t stop, I need books more than money anyway, right?).

Bookish Things:

Because of my massive book haul in February, I decided to be a responsible adult and save my money until my “un-read” bookshelf shrinks a little bit. I’m proud to say that I made it through an entire month having only bought one book:

18798983

I have heard such great things about The Wrath and the Dawn, and I’m so excited to start reading it. Of course, there are a whole bunch of books in the series, so I don’t know if I actually helped my wallet much with this one…

It also doesn’t help that my TBR pretty much only increased this month. I hit a reading slump, and I got sick right at the beginning of the month, so I only read two books in March:

And I Darken was definitely my favorite of the two, but they were both fun reads! Because Ensnared isn’t scheduled to be released until December, I decided to wait a little while before posting my review.

Unfortunately, because I read so few books this month, I’ve fallen behind on my Goodreads Challenge:

3.30.17 Reading Challenge

But, thanks to some recs from my awesome friend Tricia, I’m out of my slump, and I am super excited for the books I have lined up for April! The schedule will be posted soon (and I promise I’ll actually do it this month!)

Tags and Awards:

Liebster Award
Unique Blogger Award
Sunshine Blogger Award
Goodreads Book Tag

What to Expect Now:

Naturally, I have a bunch of books lined up for April, but for us Americans, April is also National Poetry Month!! Keep an eye out for poetry-related posts, maybe some poetry performance videos (would you guys be interested in seeing a video of me reading some of mine?) and please don’t judge me if I get a little fan-girly over some awesome poetry!

There will definitely be more discussion posts (probably at least one poetry-related). Come talk to me about books and poetry so I’m not just talking to myself!

Also, I was thinking about doing some book giveaways in either April or May. If you guys are at all interested, let me know so I can start planning!

And, as always, if there’s anything you want to know about this particular Reader, all you have to do is ask!


Thanks for reading! Did anything awesome happen to you in March? Do you have any big plans for April (book-related or otherwise)? Would you be interested in book giveaways, or hearing some of my poetry? Let me know in the comments below!

name

8 thoughts on “March Wrap-up

Leave a Reply

