February Wrap-Up

Updates on the Reader:

February has been exciting for me; as of the 26th, this blog has been in existence for one whole month!! I started blogging so I could keep writing about books and talk to others about them, and so far, I am LOVING the blogger life!

On top of that, my birthday was this month! As of February 5th, AKA Superbowl Sunday for us Americans, this particular Reader is 23 years old!

giphy

I thought about showing you guys my book haul for February, but because of my birthday (and a visit to a lovely 2nd-hand bookstore in Georgia with my grandmother), it would just be waaaay too long. I mean, easily more than 30 books long.

Because of all the new books, I had to clean out my shelves and my bookshelves look so good right now. Unfortunately, that means the rest of my room is a total disaster; there are piles of books all over the place that I want to get rid of, but I have no idea what to do with them. If you have any suggestions, let me know!

It should come as no surprise that I also got a lot of reading done this month (keeping on-track with my Goodreads goal!). Here’s the basic run-down:

What I Read:

Check out my reviews!

The Good:

There were a couple books that really stood out this month:

  1. A Torch Against the Night by Sabaa Tahir; This is an amazing sequel to a great book!
  2. Filthy Labors by Lauren Schmidt; One of the best books of poetry I’ve ever read! (review to be posted in March)
The Medium:

These are the books that were not super amazing, but I still (mostly) enjoyed them:

  1. The Valiant by Lesley Livingston; An historical fiction novel about a Celtic princess turned gladiator
  2. Final Girls by Mira Grant; A quick and easy sci-fi/horror novella in which a woman subjects herself to virtual reality in the name of journalism.
  3. the princess saves herself in this one by Amanda Lovelace; A decent book of poetry about the pains of growing up, and how to discover self-love.
The Slightly-Below-Medium:

These are the books that just didn’t cut it for me

  1. Quests of the Kings by Robert Evert; a fantasy novel about a young peasant girl trying to change her lot in life
  2. With Paper for Feet by Jennifer McGowan; a collection of poetry drawing inspiration from Shakespeare, religion, Greek mythology, and more
  3. Neon Soul by Alexandra Elle; a collection of poetry exploring the relationship between writing and emotional pain

What to Expect Now:

I have several books lined up for the month of March, including some poetry, some fairytale retellings, and my favorite, some good ole YA Fantasy. I like to be shrouded in mystery, so I’ll keep the titles to myself for now, but trust me, they’re going to be great! (Also, either later today or tomorrow, I’ll be posting a new reading schedule on my “When” page, so there won’t be too much mystery.)

In March, I’ll also start sharing some discussion posts! Come join in the conversation! Otherwise I’m just talking to myself…

And, as always, if there’s anything you want to know about this Reader in particular, all you have to do is ask!


Thanks for reading!  What are some awesome things that happened to you in the month of February? What are your reading/life goals for the month of March? Any ideas on what I should do with the books I’m getting rid of? Let me know in the comments below!

name

6 thoughts on “February Wrap-Up

    • I know! After reading the description, I really wanted to like it! In all honesty, most of the elements of the book aren’t too bad, I just couldn’t get past the main character 😦

      Like

Leave a Reply

