Burn, Rewrite, and Reread

book-tag

Hey everyone, it’s your friendly neighborhood Reader! The wonderful Lois and David tagged me in the Burn, Rewrite, Reread book tag, and I am super excited about it! I used the Goodreads advice, because my bookshelves are currently empty and my books are all over my room in a mess of bookshelf cleaning frenzy.

So, here are the rules:

  • Randomly choose 3 books (Tip: Use the “Sort > Random” option at the bottom of your Goodreads’ Read shelf.).
  • For each group, decide which book to burn, which one to rewrite, and which to reread (a lot like Kill, Kiss, Marry).
  • Repeat until you completed three rounds

Here we go; brace yourselves friends!

Round 1:

Burn: Incarceron by Catherine Fisher

This is already so hard! Granted, it’s been years since I read this book, but I remember really enjoying Incarceron and its sequel, Sapphique. They were unlike anything I had ever read at the time, and, to this day, still stand out to me as being fairly unique; I’ve actually been thinking about going back and rereading this one lately. If you think you’d enjoy a sort of steampunk fantasy, then I would check this one out. I had a really hard time deciding whether this should be my burn or my rewrite.

Rewrite: Forbidden by Ted Dekker and Tosca Lee

This is the first book in The Book of Mortals series. I think I read the entire trilogy in a week. This is another one of those books where it’s been a while since I’ve read it, but I can remember one or two specific instances where I was thinking, “This seems a little sudden, I would’ve changed it just a little,” so I had to put it under Rewrite.

Reread: The Road by Cormac McCarthy

I had to read The Road for my high school AP English class. In the entire history of my schooling, there have only ever been three books that made it from the English classroom to the “favorite book” shelf; The Road was one of them.


Round 2:

Okay, this round was the easiest.

Burn: Animal Farm by George Orwell

I want it to be known that I love 1984, it’s actually one of my favorites. But for me, Animal Farm just isn’t as good. It just came across as preachy overall; there was no plot and essentially nameless characters just for the sake of conveying a message. I’m all for using literature as a platform, but unless I’m reading nonfiction, I think the story should come first.

Rewrite: Graceling by Kristin Cashore

I love Graceling and its teammate Fire, but of the remaining two, I’d rather rewrite this one. There were a few scenes that I’d be okay with rewriting, but, on the whole, I wouldn’t rewrite much in this book.

Reread: The Screwtape Letters by C.S. Lewis

For those of you who haven’t read my “Why” page, C.S. Lewis tops my list of favorite authors. I absolutely adore him, and this book is one of my favorites. I wouldn’t want to rewrite any of his books, but this one in particular for two reasons: 1) I don’t think there is any way I could improve this one, 2) I wouldn’t want to get myself into the mindset necessary for writing it.

Round 3:

THIS IS THE ROUND THAT KILLED ME!!

Burn: White is for Witching by Helen Oyeyemi

FORGIVE ME!!! I loved this book! Remember how earlier I was saying there have only been three books that made it from the English classroom to the “favorite book” shelf? THIS IS ONE OF THEM!! The writing is beautiful, the characters are well-developed, and the plot is engaging. If it had been grouped with pretty much any book other than these two, I’d be a much happier little Reader.

Rewrite: The Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss

I adore this book; I think I devoured this and its sequel in about two days each. That said, there are a few things I would love to see expanded a little bit, and some I would like a little less of. I would love to see more of the female characters, since we really only get to know one or two, and many of the minor female characters seem to have a lot of potential. The other thing is that sometimes I think the protagonist is a little too perfect; there’s nothing he doesn’t excel at. I’d like to see him fall on his face once or twice in more areas than just romance. The last thing I would change is HOW LONG IT’S TAKING THESE BOOKS TO COME OUT!! I feel like it’s been decades since I read the first one, and the third one hasn’t even been given a release date yet!

Reread: The Voyage of the Dawn Treader by C.S. Lewis

Anyone who knows me would not be surprised to find the fifth Narnia novel is the reread from this group. This was my favorite book growing up, and continues to be a beloved book; I wanted to be best friends with Reepicheep the Mouse, and King Edmund will always be my literary crush. I have an audio dramatization that I listen to all the time, so it’s like I’m rereading it almost every time I’m in my car.


I’m still pretty new here, so I’ll only tag a few people:

Chanda @ Chanda Reads Books
Caitlin @ Words and Other Beasts
Zuky @ Book Bum
Sam @ RiverMoose Reads

If you decide to join in the horrible book burning fun, put a link to your post in the comments; I’d love to check it out!


Thanks for powering through my book-nerding! Let me know whether you agree or disagree with my choices in the comments below!

name

8 thoughts on “Burn, Rewrite, and Reread

Leave a Reply

