WWW Wednesday- Feb 8,2017

WWW Wednesday is a meme hosted by the bloggers over at Taking on a World of WordsThis wonderful blogger explains it best:

“Welcome to WWW Wednesday! This meme was formerly hosted by MizB at A Daily img_1384-0Rhythm and revived here on Taking on a World of Words. Just answer the three questions below and leave a link to your post in the comments for others to look at. No blog? No problem! Just leave a comment with your responses. Please, take some time to visit the other participants and see what others are reading. So, let’s get to it!”

I’m finally satisfied with how my blog is set up (for now) so I decided to join in!

The three W’s are:

  1. What are you currently reading?
  2. What did you recently finish reading?
  3. What are you planning on reading next?

Brace yourselves!


What are you currently reading?31338831

One of the books I’m reading at the moment is an advance copy of Quests of the Kings by  Robert Evert. I’m about halfway through, and so far, I’m enjoying it! It was a little slow getting started, and every once in a while I catch myself thinking, “A man definitely wrote this female protagonist,” but so far, I enjoy the plot and most of the characters, even when they say kind of cheesy things. I’ll be posting my review later this week, and give you guys my full thoughts on the book.

30226723Another book I’m reading is King’s Cage by Victoria Aveyard. When I say “reading,” I mean I’ve only read the first chapter, but I’ve been waiting for this book for sooo long, and finally, the third book in the Red Queen series arrived at my house yesterday. I’ll admit, I am a little nervous; I really enjoyed Book #1, but then I was a little disappointed by book #2, so I’m hoping King’s Cage will restore my love of the series. I’ll probably end up reading (devouring) the rest of it over the weekend, and give you guys my review by early next week.


What did you recently finish reading?32994321

One of the books I recently finished was Final Girls by Mira Grant, a sci-fi/horror mash-up
that was a middle-of-the-line book for me; I didn’t hate it, but it also won’t top my reading list. The plot was fun and fast-paced, and it was pretty easy to read, but the characters were pretty underdeveloped, and I’m someone who needs great characters to really love a book. You can check out my full review if you want more details.

32334099The other book I finished super recently (yesterday, in fact) was Neon Souls by Alexandra Elle. This was the first poetry book I read for this year, and it had such high ratings on Goodreads. Unfortunately, I was left incredibly disappointed. There was A LOT of poetry in this book. For some reference, one of my favorite poetry books has 70 pages worth of poems, this book had 143, which wouldn’t have bothered me, except that so much of it seemed like it came straight from the Facebook page of an angsty teenager, rather than the pen of a professional and published poet. You can check out my full review for more, but you pretty much just read the short version.


What are you planning on reading next?

30375703I’m so glad you asked! The first one on the list (and the one it feels like I have been waiting ages for!) is The Valiant by Lesley Livingston. This book promises lady gladiators, Celtic princesses, and a bad-ass female protagonist. Since one of my favorite movies is Gladiator, my ancestors were Irish (and love Celtic music), and I’m always a sucker for awesome lady warriors, this synopsis has checked every box for me, and I have been dying to read it!! Amazon tells me it’ll be here on Valentine’s Day, but this will probably be the longest week of my life!

32072771

Next on my TBR list is Filthy Labors by Lauren Schmidt. I have high hopes for this collection of poetry. There are only two ratings on Goodreads, but the cover and synopsis are so enticing. I’m expecting Walt Whitman references, religious undertones, and a whole lot about humanity’s struggle to take care of its own. Here’s hoping it’s a great collection of poetry! (And I know I already mentioned it, but doesn’t that cover just scream “I’m full of well-written, lyrical verses that will make you question how you’ve dealt with other human beings/the earth in general?”)


Thanks for powering through all of my book nerding! I’d love to hear what books you’ve finished, which ones you’re reading, or if there are any books that you just cannot wait for! Let me know in the comments below!

name

Leave a Reply

